The Good With the Bad

Well today was a mix of emotions. Scott went and picked up Briar Rose and Merriweather who we purchased a little over a month ago. They were off being bred. So today we happily welcomed my sweet girls home. They’ll have a few rough days battling for herd order and learning our routines. I am so excited they are here and look forward to getting to know them better.

The bad I didnt want to write about. With the gas and grocery prices up we keep readjusting our budget. At first it was $800 took care of gas for both vehicles for the month since I dont drive much. My husband has a long commute so the next time it was $800 for his gas alone. This month its easily going to be $1000 just him going back and forth. Thats almost half his salary!

I do thank God for the blessings we do have. I honestly do struggle with what tomorrow holds. I also thank God we sold so many and culled the herd when we did. It still is so easy to get stuck in the pitty party. I cried today and Im sure will happen again. I have my faith in God that he will pull us through. Many times in the Bible He promises just that. I just have to take that to heart and walk in faith.

So what can I do to help my situation. Well first off my garden has to thrive. We have to be eating mainly our own produce and cut back on portions of meat to make it. I will do everything I can do to support it. Next is finding a way to bring in more money. I already have the flea market booth and now sewing dresses. So unless I think of something else I need to do what I can to help those business plans.

I’m not really sure what else I can do. I just hope when I do get weak and break down the kids dont know about it.

Leave a Reply

