I ordered my chicks!

I ordered my chicks this year from Ideal Poultry in Cameron, TX. I had good luck with them before and they had in stock all the ones I wanted. I ordered 25 Buff Orpingtons straight run (which means mixed male and female), 10 Delaware straight run, 10 Rhode Island Red straight run, and 5 Buff Brahma Pullets. I ordered straight run cause is cheaper than ordering “sexed” chicks. Also we can eat, sell or trade the remaining roosters or culls. I will keep one RIR rooster and one Buff Orpington Rooster. I eventually retire or adopt out Clifford our RIR rooster. He no longer breeds as often as he should. But he has such a great temperament I have just kept him around. I originally ordered Turkens cause I was told they were broody but instead changed my order to Buff Brahmas. I really hope to have them incubate the eggs instead of me having to. They should arrive Feb 9th!

Leave a Reply

